Genesis, the beginning of God’s redemptive story

God is a God who makes and keeps promises (also known as covenants). He made them with Noah, Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. Even today he is happy to make a covenant with anyone who looks to him for salvation (yes, even you! – see John 1:12 and John 3:16)!

Consider this covenant with Noah and the entire human race:

Genesis 9:12 Then God said, “I am giving you a sign of my covenant with you and with all living creatures, for all generations to come. 13 I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth. 14 When I send clouds over the earth, the rainbow will appear in the clouds, 15 and I will remember my covenant with you and with all living creatures. Never again will the floodwaters destroy all life. 16When I see the rainbow in the clouds, I will remember the eternal covenant between God and every living creature on earth.” 17 Then God said to Noah, “Yes, this rainbow is the sign of the covenant I am confirming with all the creatures on earth.” NLT

This reminds me of a Youtube video I saw the other day, which if I’m honest, made me uncomfortable and even a bit embarrassed for the man in the video. A man sees a double rainbow and just goes nuts in his excitement, wonder, and awe. He ends up sobbing; awe struck at it’s beauty.

As I’m watching the video, I’m stunned, thinking, “Get a grip, it’s only a rainbow.” But another part of me is saying, “No, he is right. We all should be filled with awe and wonder like this man was at the glorious beauty God has surrounded us with.”

I want to be that amazed at all of God’s creation! I want to be filed with awe and wonder at the intricacies of a spider’s web, or the bee’s honeycomb (this summer I had an underground hive in my backyard and it was fascinating watching them come and go), or the stars and galaxies that fill the universe as far as we can see even with the most powerful telescopes.

I stumbled upon the following video the other day and just marveled at the beauty of God’s creation – especially the scenes of the stars (this is in HD so may take a time to load – hit play, then pause it until it fully loads, then enjoy full screen!)

Isn’t that just simply stunning?

I was researching the universe the other night and came across some information about the Hubble deep field. For ten days in 1995 the Hubble telescope took a picture of deep space, the area it focused in on in the sky was about the size of a grain of sand held at arms length. 3,000 galaxies were found within this dark small patch of sky.

In 2003, the Hubble then took more pictures known as the Hubble Ultra Deep Field. 10,000 galaxies, some of them 13 billion light years away appear in this photo. Just think of how many grain-of-sand-sized patches of sky are all around us on every side, and this is only as far as we can see! Who’s to say that these galaxies don’t just go on forever in every direction? Just think about that for a moment. God created that! Marvelous!

Hubble Ultra Deep Field Photo

Speaking of stars and promises, consider this one from Genesis 15:5:

“Then the LORD took Abram outside and said to him, “Look up into the sky and count the stars if you can. That’s how many descendants you will have!”” NLT

and again in Genesis 22:17:

I will surely bless you and make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as the sand on the seashore.” NLT

It was more than he could ever count. God was making the point to Abraham that his offspring would be innumerable! And based upon the rest of Scripture (see Revelation 7:9-17), God was not simply referring to natural descendants, to Israel and the Jewish people, but also to all (yes, even you the reader) who come to faith and find salvation in the God of Abraham… in Jesus the Messiah, the only true God.

One final Scripture to meditate on:

“For his unfailing love toward those who fear (reverently trust) him is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth.” Psalm 103:11 NLT (Psalm 103 is amazing!)

Would you take a moment to pray with me?

God, You are a brilliant Creator! Thank you for blowing our minds with how wonderfully complex and beautiful this world is that you created. Please soften our calloused hearts and help us each new day to marvel at the beauty of creation, and with grateful hearts to be in awe of you, the Creator!

As we look into the night sky may we remember that your unfailing love is as “great as the height of the heavens above the earth” for those who simply trust you. God, in this moment we say that we trust in you. We believe God, help us with our unbelief. Thank you that you are willing to make a covenant with us that we can know such an awesome God in such a personal way all because of Jesus.

One final thought:

As I was reading through Genesis I was struck by how God was making all these redemptive promises. As soon as sin enters the world he already has a plan to rescue, to save, and to put things right. He makes his first redemptive promise right after Adam and Eve first sinned (God is speaking to the serpent in this verse):

Genesis 3:15 “And I will put enmity between you (the serpent or Satan) and the woman, and between your offspring (unbelievers) and hers (Jesus); he (Jesus) will crush your head (Satan’s power), and you will strike his heel (the cross).” NLT (see Galatians 3:15-25)

This is the first of many Messianic prophecies throughout Genesis and the Bible. Genesis as well as the rest of Scripture really is all about Jesus. He is this incredibly fascinating central figure of the Bible and the protagonist in God’s redemptive story.

How else have you seen Jesus in Genesis? What fills you with awe and wonder?Leave a reply below!

8 thoughts on “Genesis, the beginning of God’s redemptive story

  1. Daniel,
    Thank you for visiting my blog. I headed over to see what the Spirit is doing with you and was delighted to hear about your journey through the scriptures, one book a day! It reminded me of when I came back from my hiatus (about 20 years) and rediscovered the wonders of our great and marvelous God! I read the Word like a maniac! I stumbled over so many treasures, it would have been a great idea to share. I pray that God give you the spirit of Job who said ” I have treasured the words of His mouth more than my daily bread.”(NIV) Just the other day an older sister shared with me the KJV which fast became dear to me which says”I have esteemed the words of His mouth more than my necessary food”. (Job 23: 12) I am encouraged by you and can’t wait to see what treasures you share! Stop by and visit me again!
    Blessing of God’s Peace,
    Colleen

    • Thank you Colleen for your kind words. This has been an amazing journey so far. Genesis took me until 4 in the morning to finish! I really want to soak it all in and let God speak to me through it. So, I’m trying not to “rush” through it but really listen and have been blessed by the insights so far.

  2. Hello Daniel’
    Very good work. I am in the process of gathering material for a ministry that I believe that God has given me: It is tentatively titled: Struggle of a soul,” I am currently on something called ‘Good News’ which will also briefly touch on Abraham and righteousness that I believe are a part of the Gospel.

    God bless
    Gian

    ps. If you are interested — I have a blog that I am in the process of starting:
    the address in case is: http://vitaspiritualita.wordpress.com.
    If you like: leave a comment about the content
    thanks

  3. Pingback: Aftermath: Rebellion and Hope « Life Reference

  4. Pingback: GOD: The Great Controversy, or is it? « Love Me Naturally

Leave a Reply

