Top 7 Reasons Why I Hate My Blog!

Ok, so I thought it would be fun to take a moment and diss my blog! Sounds fun right?

Top 7 Reasons Why I Hate My Blog:

I preach too much! “Amen brother!” Personally, I don’t particularly like getting preached at – especially in a blog. I much prefer the “lead the horse to water” approach.

Not Post-modern enough! I make way too many “truth claims”. As if to say there is only one “right” way! But, isn’t this what Scripture teaches? (John 14:6, Acts 4:12) One of the things about postmodernism that I read on Wikepedia says:

” It (postmodernism) upholds the belief that there is no absolute truth and the way in which different people perceive the world is subjective.” (Wikipedia)

If this is necessarily true about postmodernism (& who gets to decide the tenants of this ambiguous movement of postmodernism anyway?), then this is where postmodernism and I part ways. I like to think of myself as a postmodern in some other ways, simply because I see so many flaws with a “modern” worldview, but I cannot and will not yeild to this. Jesus is Absolute Truth.

Way too long! As the Bible says, “in the abundance of words, sin is not lacking” (Proverbs 10:19). I must admit that often my lengthy posts are attempts to justify all the ways that I am not loving, and to cover up my sin.

Way too honest! In my attempt to be real about my experience of the text of Scripture, and about myself, I reveal more than is comfortable. As one very famous Christian author once confessed, “most of the time, I feel like a con-man.” But I don’t want to con you! If at all possible, I will be real and authentic with you the reader and provide a rich, meaningful experience of God and his word in an inspiring way.

Too “right” and “thorough”. I have this tendency to try to fill in all the gaps, like I am trying to put the whole puzzle together for you in one sitting (as if I could). In reality I have only been given my one piece of the puzzle, and most of the time it’s covered in mud anyway. In and of myself I have no ability to be either “right” or “thorough”. This is actually one of the main problems I see with modernism and why reading books by “modern” writers is so annoying. Again, this brings us back to truth claims – something that only Jesus can really do. This is a case where this quote applies:

“Perfectionism is the enemy of the good.”

Not a feel good blog! The Bible has a tendency to crush all self-esteem. It reveals the fact that we are sinners and rebels against God. This is a sobering and humbling thing to realize. But once we do, we are ready for grace. God resists the proud and gives grace to the humble… and grace, my friend, is a beautiful thing.

Rewriting and editing my blog after publishing it! Can he do that? This is the beauty of the internet. I wonder how an author can stand having thousands of books in print that contain either errors or thoughts that the authors themselves no longer agree with.

I am obviously not quite ready for that. Hence I blog, change my mind, edit, change my mind again, edit some more. Unfortunately the ones who read the first edition still think that I think things that I no longer think which i think is way too many times to say think in the same thinking sentence… think about it. Which could get annoying. I’m hard to pin down because I’m always changing and hopefully growing. Looking for someone who doesn’t change? Look no further than Jesus.

Leave a Reply

